New Music

These New Nightlands Songs are Mesmerizing Sonic Tapestries (Listen)

Hear three new selections from 'I Can Feel the Night Around Me' by Nightlands

nightlands band dave hartley

Photo by Dustin Condren

A euphoric sunrise, a moonlit desert drive, a blossoming cosmos: these are images that might appear in your mind as you listen to selections from Nightlands’ I Can Feel the Night Around Me. Nightlands leader Dave Hartley has woven layers of nostalgic synthesizers and warm vocals to create a ‘virtual choir’ and a mesmerizing sonic tapestry. 

Hartley (best known as a core member and longtime bassist of The War On Drugs) has shared three songs from I Can Feel the Night Around Me (listen below), his third album as Nightlands. ‘Fear of Flying’ sounds like a cross between The Beach Boys and Vangelis’s Blade Runner soundtrack. ‘Only You Know’ is a Dion cover, recorded as a fun journey into pop crooning. On the electrifying ‘Depending on You,’ Hartley’s vocals cascade like warm layers of sunlight. Contrary to the warmth in these songs, Hartley recorded most of the album alone in a cold warehouse basement in North Philadelphia.

I Can Feel the Night Around Me is due May 5th via Western Vinyl, and it’s available for preorder now. See Nightlands album art and tour dates below.

nightlands band

Nightlands Tour Dates:

  • Mon. May 8 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
  • Tue. May 9 – Seattle, WA @ The Sunset
  • Wed. May 10 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
  • Fri. May 12 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
  • Sat. May 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
  • Fri. May 19 – Washington, DC @ DC9
  • Sat. May 20 – New York, NY @ Rough Trade
  • Mon. May 22 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
  • Wed. May 24 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison
  • Thu. May 25 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
  • Fri. May 26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Spring Sound Series @ The Warhol
  • Sat. May 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brendas

Listen to the best
podcast in music.

Subscribe to the Culture Creature podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Android | Stitcher | RSS