New Music

The Radio Dept. Announce New Album ‘Running Out of Love,’ Share First Single (Listen)

On its fourth LP, the Swedish dream pop band uses its homeland as a microcosm of global issues

radio dept running out of love

Swedish dream pop band The Radio Dept. have announced their fourth LP, Running Out of Love, due October 21 via Labrador Records. According to the band’s label, Running Out of Love “is an album about life in Sweden in 2016 moving in the wrong direction: politically, intellectually, morally…. The issues addressed throughout the band’s stunning fourth LP are relevant not just to Sweden but around the globe.”

The band has shared the single ‘Swedish Guns’ (listen below). The song laces an evocative synth pattern with a lyrical critique of Sweden’s arms culture, calling it “a diabolic shame.” The band describes the song as “a haunting takedown of the Swedish arms industry.”

The Radio Dept. have released three albums prior to Running Out of Love. Their prior release, Clinging to a Scheme, was a highlight of 2010. The band have dropped the occasional one-off single since then. You might say that The Radio Dept. likes to ‘hide the medicine in the ice cream;’ tracks like ‘Swedish Guns’ and last year’s ‘This Repeated Sodomy’ sneak a dose of sociopolitical commentary into indie pop confections that can seem soothing or even sedate on the surface.

The Radio Dept. Running Out of Love tracklist:

  1. Sloboda narodu
  2. Swedish guns
  3. We got game
  4. Thieves of state
  5. Occupied
  6. This thing was bound to happen
  7. Can’t be guilty
  8. Committed to the cause
  9. Running out of love
  10. Teach me to forget

Listen to the best
podcast in music.

Subscribe to the Culture Creature podcast:
Apple Podcasts | Android | Stitcher | RSS